Bay West Earns a Second Governor’s Safety Award

Bay West Earns a Second Governor’s Safety Award

April 10, 2014 · Commercial, State, Municipal ·

Bay West LLC, a Minnesota-based environmental and industrial services company, has been awarded a Governor’s Safety Award by The Minnesota Safety Council for superior performance in workplace safety and health. Bay West is one of 202 employers who will be recognized at the Governor’s Safety Awards luncheon at the Minneapolis Convention Center on May 8.

“Employers like Bay West want to protect their employees because it’s the right thing to do,” said Carol Bufton, president of the Minnesota Safety Council. “It’s also good business — an effective safety program helps organizations reduce costs, increase productivity, and stay competitive.”

“This has been the second time that Bay West has achieved the Meritorious Achievement Award during my tenure,” said Dan Musser, Corporate Safety and Health Specialist. “The dedication to health and safety by ALL employees is what make us leaders within our industry. I’m proud to work with employees and a company that accepts safety as their number one goal each day.”

Three levels of recognition

The Governor’s Safety Awards luncheon is part of the 80th Minnesota Safety & Health Conference, coordinated by the Minnesota Safety Council. The conference is the oldest and largest gathering of workplace safety and health professionals in the region. The Minnesota Safety Council, founded in 1928, is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in Minnesota by preventing unintentional injuries (accidents).

Since 1934, the annual Governor’s Safety Awards program has honored Minnesota employers with exceptional safety performance. Applicants are judged on several years of injury data as it compares with their industry’s national statistics, and on their progress in implementing a comprehensive safety program.

Bay West received a Meritorious Achievement Award. Winners are recognized at three levels:

  • Meritorious Achievement (126 winners): Incident rates that are better than the industry average for at least three years, and a score between 50 and 74 on a 100-point safety program evaluation scale.
  • Outstanding Achievement (58 winners): Continuing improvement and/or a continuing outstanding record with incident rates that are 51%-90% better than the industry average, and a score between 76 and 90 on the safety program evaluation scale
  • Award of Honor (19 winners): Incidence rates at least 91% better than the industry average and a score between 91 and 100 on the safety program evaluation scale.

Connect With Us